Latest News

We're still raising money for your local charities and good causes in 2020.

Find out more about the Resolution Cup Challenge being run in 2020.

 

 

The Walk Day In Case of Emergency (ICE) phone number has changed. It is now 0777 888 4020. The new number will be printed on lanyards and route cards.

Rigg Wood (First Aid)

Rigg Wood

  • Miles to go: 16.22

The wood is on the left side of the road as you continue down towards Water Park.

  • First Aid - at Rigg Wood
  • No support vehicles

INTERESTING FACT: Rigg Wood is privately owned, but is open to the public for walking. It is adjacent to Grizedale Forest, a 6,050-acre (2,447 hectare) forest managed by the Forestry Commission, visited by 200,000 people each year. Fans of Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons series visit Rigg Wood to see the ruin of a traditional circular stone hut, believed to have been the inspiration for an "igloo" described in the book "Winter Holiday".