Latest News

The 2019 Charity Awards and Trophies winners are now all uploaded to the site. We gave away an amazing £379,666 this year. Well done ot everyone who contributed whether walking, volunteering or sponsoring.

The 2020 K2B walk route has been confirmed. It will start at Legburthwaite, and proceeds down the west of Thirlmere. It joins up with the 2018/19 route just north of Dunmail raise. The remainder of the route is unchanged. Total length of the new route is 39.4 miles.

The Walk Day In Case of Emergency (ICE) phone number has changed. It is now 0777 888 4020. The new number will be printed on lanyards and route cards.

Rigg Wood (First Aid)

Rigg Wood

  • Miles to go: 16.22

The wood is on the left side of the road as you continue down towards Water Park.

  • First Aid - at Rigg Wood
  • No support vehicles

INTERESTING FACT: Rigg Wood is privately owned, but is open to the public for walking. It is adjacent to Grizedale Forest, a 6,050-acre (2,447 hectare) forest managed by the Forestry Commission, visited by 200,000 people each year. Fans of Arthur Ransome's Swallows and Amazons series visit Rigg Wood to see the ruin of a traditional circular stone hut, believed to have been the inspiration for an "igloo" described in the book "Winter Holiday".